What each type of business needs before selling into Connecticut.
Tobacco Products Distributor License
- Who needs it
- US manufacturer, Importer, Distributor or wholesaler, Manufacturer outside the US
- Agency
- DRS
- Fee
- $200 per year
- Bond
- None found in statute
- Term
- Annual
- Renewal
- Unclear from current sources (a 2006 DRS guide said licenses expire June 30 and renewal is billed automatically; confirm)
Required for any person in Connecticut who manufactures tobacco products, buys untaxed tobacco products at wholesale, or imports untaxed tobacco products into Connecticut at least 75 percent of which are for sale. Only licensed distributors may buy untaxed tobacco products for resale. License must be displayed on the licensed premises. The Commissioner may refuse a license for false statements, unpaid taxes or certain convictions.
All products except little cigars, vapor products, nicotine pouches
Conn. Gen. Stat. 12-330a, 12-330b Source
Unclassified Importer License
- Who needs it
- Retailer
- Agency
- DRS
- Fee
- No fee
- Bond
- None
- Term
- Not stated
- Renewal
- Not stated
For a person other than a distributor who imports, receives or acquires untaxed tobacco products from outside Connecticut for personal use or consumption. Relevant to consumers who buy from out-of-state online sellers that do not collect Connecticut tax. The Commissioner may exempt unclassified importers from licensing by regulation.
All products except little cigars, vapor products, nicotine pouches
Conn. Gen. Stat. 12-330a, 12-330b, 12-330d Source
Cigarette Dealer License (for retailers of taxed tobacco products)
- Who needs it
- Retailer
- Agency
- DRS
- Fee
- Not confirmed from a current primary source
- Bond
- None found
- Term
- Issued through the following September 30
- Renewal
- Annual, expires September 30; renewal notices early August, bills mid-September, local law enforcement may comment by about September 9
Statute says a person who buys only taxed tobacco products for retail sale is not licensed as a distributor and must hold a dealer's license under ch. 214. The DRS cigarette page, however, says the license applies to sellers of cigarettes 'other than a person who sells solely and exclusively tobacco products'. Cigar-only retailers should confirm with DRS. Any retailer selling little cigars (taxed as cigarettes) needs this license.
All products except vapor products, nicotine pouches
Conn. Gen. Stat. 12-330d(b)(1); ch. 214 Source
Electronic Cigarette Products Tax registration (wholesaler)
- Who needs it
- Distributor or wholesaler, Importer, US manufacturer, Manufacturer outside the US, Retailer
- Agency
- DRS
- Fee
- None stated
- Bond
- None stated
- Term
- Ongoing
- Renewal
- None stated
All electronic cigarette wholesalers making sales or use in Connecticut must register for the Electronic Cigarette Tax in myconneCT. 'Wholesaler' includes anyone selling at wholesale in Connecticut, anyone buying from a manufacturer, and a dealer or retailer that imports untaxed product into Connecticut.
Vapor products
Conn. Gen. Stat. 12-330ee Source
Electronic Nicotine Delivery System Certificate of Dealer Registration
- Who needs it
- Retailer, Distributor or wholesaler, Importer, Manufacturer outside the US, US manufacturer
- Agency
- DCP
- Fee
- Initial $1,800 ($1,000 application fee plus $800 registration fee); renewal $800
- Bond
- None
- Term
- Annual
- Renewal
- Expires every February 28
Required for each business location that sells ENDS or vapor products. Wholesalers and distributors must register as dealers. Out-of-state manufacturers selling or distributing in Connecticut need a dealer registration. Package store liquor permit holders are not eligible. At least one owner or designee must complete an online course on preventing sales to minors. Certificate must be posted next to the products. Fees confirmed in Conn. Gen. Stat. 21a-415 (2025): $1,000 nonrefundable application fee and $800 annual registration fee, matching the DCP license page (updated March 23, 2026). The $75 and $400 amounts are the manufacturer registration fees under 21a-415a, not dealer fees.
Vapor products
Conn. Gen. Stat. 21a-415; DCP ENDS Dealer license page Source
Electronic Nicotine Delivery System Certificate of Manufacturer Registration
- Who needs it
- US manufacturer
- Agency
- DCP
- Fee
- Initial $475 ($75 nonrefundable application fee plus $400 registration); renewal $400 ($200 annual fee, $275 initial, for a holder of additional manufacturer or dealer registrations)
- Bond
- None
- Term
- Annual
- Renewal
- Expires every February 28
For persons who mix, compound, repackage or resize nicotine-containing ENDS or vapor products in Connecticut. May need proof of local building, fire and zoning compliance.
Vapor products
Conn. Gen. Stat. 21a-415a(c); DCP ENDS Manufacturer license page Source
None of these apply to the profile you picked.