What each type of business needs before selling into Pennsylvania.
Other Tobacco Products Wholesaler License
- Who needs it
- Distributor or wholesaler, Importer
- Agency
- PA Department of Revenue
- Fee
- $1,500 per location
- Bond
- None stated on Revenue licensing page
- Term
- Annual license period; licenses expire at the end of February (the Department's 2026 due date guide shows 2025 tobacco dealer licenses expiring Feb. 28, 2026)
- Renewal
- Renew and pay in myPATH before the end of February
Act 57 of 2025 requires licensed retailers to buy tobacco products only from a PA licensed wholesaler (effective Feb. 20, 2026). Section 204-I: licenses issued for one year, renewable annually; Department may deny if applicant is a subterfuge for a previously denied party. Whether an out-of-state wholesaler that ships into PA must hold this license is not stated on the pages reviewed.
Pipe tobaccoRoll-your-ownSmokelessVapor products
72 P.S. 8220-A, 8225-A, 8227-A (TRC Art. XII-A); Fiscal Code 203-I, 204-I (Act 57 of 2025); Tobacco Products Bulletin 2016-04 Source
Other Tobacco Products Manufacturer License
- Who needs it
- US manufacturer, Manufacturer outside the US
- Agency
- PA Department of Revenue
- Fee
- $1,500 per location
- Bond
- None stated for the Revenue license (the separate AG ENDS certification requires a surety bond of at least $50,000)
- Term
- Annual; expires end of February
- Renewal
- myPATH
Act 57 of 2025 (effective Feb. 20, 2026): manufacturers need both a manufacturer license and a wholesaler license at each Pennsylvania location to sell to retailers. Section 205-I lists criteria: reasonable financial stability, business experience, no convictions involving moral turpitude, tax compliance, and accurate disclosures. In East Coast Vapor v. Dept. of Revenue (Jan. 3, 2025) the Commonwealth Court held section 1221-A and parts of section 1220-A facially unconstitutional delegations of legislative power, which halted manufacturer licensing; Act 57 added statutory criteria.
Pipe tobaccoRoll-your-ownSmokelessVapor products
72 P.S. 8221-A; Fiscal Code 205-I (Act 57 of 2025); East Coast Vapor LLC v. DOR, No. 153 C.D. 2023 (Pa. Cmwlth. Jan. 3, 2025) Source
Tobacco Products Retailer License (over the counter)
- Who needs it
- Retailer
- Agency
- PA Department of Revenue
- Fee
- $25 per location (Revenue lists $25 for cigarette retailer and $25 for OTP retailer)
- Bond
- None
- Term
- Annual; expires end of February
- Renewal
- myPATH
Needed for each retail location selling OTP or e-cigarettes. A retailer that only sells cigars (no little cigars, OTP or vapor) is not clearly addressed on Revenue pages; see open questions. Philadelphia locations also need a city Tobacco Retailer Permit.
Pipe tobaccoRoll-your-ownSmokelessVapor productsLittle cigars
72 P.S. 8220-A, 8225-A; Tobacco Products Bulletin 2016-04 Source
Vending Machine Retailer License
- Who needs it
- Retailer
- Agency
- PA Department of Revenue
- Fee
- $25 per machine location
- Bond
- None
- Term
- Annual; expires end of February
- Renewal
- myPATH (add and remove vending locations there)
Pipe tobaccoRoll-your-ownSmokelessVapor productsLittle cigars
72 P.S. 8225-A; Tobacco Products Bulletin 2016-04 Source
Cigarette Wholesaler License / Cigarette Stamping Agent License
- Who needs it
- Distributor or wholesaler, Importer
- Agency
- PA Department of Revenue
- Fee
- Wholesaler $500; stamping agent/wholesaler $1,500
- Bond
- Not stated on the licensing page
- Term
- Annual; expires end of February
- Renewal
- myPATH
In scope only because little cigars (rolls weighing not more than four pounds per thousand with a natural leaf or tobacco-containing wrapper) are cigarettes in PA. Cigarette wholesalers must collect and remit tax on taxable little cigars; stamping agents affix stamps to stampable little cigars.
Little cigars
TRC Art. XII (72 P.S. 8201 et seq.); Act 48 of 2009 Source
Philadelphia Tobacco Retailer Permit
- Who needs it
- Retailer
- Agency
- Philadelphia Department of Public Health
- Fee
- $300 for each new and renewal application, set by Board of Health regulation (approved Dec. 8, 2016); $50 late renewal fee
- Bond
- None
- Term
- Calendar year; expires Dec. 31
- Renewal
- 2027 renewals due by Dec. 31, 2026; $50 late fee after Nov. 1, 2026
Required for each location selling cigarettes, cigars, chewing tobacco, hookah, other combustible or smokeless tobacco, or electronic smoking devices in Philadelphia. New permits only in eligible locations (density cap by planning district and no new permits within 500 feet of a K-12 school); renewals exempt. Requires PA tobacco products license number, Commercial Activity License, and Philadelphia Tax ID. Not transferable to a new owner or location. Selling without a permit: $75 per day fine.
All products except nicotine pouches
Phila. Code 9-631; Board of Health Tobacco Retailing Regulation (approved Dec. 8, 2016) Source
None of these apply to the profile you picked.